Monday, March 21, 2016

Buddha's Eightfold Path

The Eightfold Path is represented in the early symbol for Buddhism, the eight spoked wheel. Buddha's first sermon is called:

Turning the Wheel of Dharma
(Dharmachakra Sutra)

After introducing the Middle Way and The Four Noble Truths, Buddha expanded by providing specific guidelines for the traveling the clear path, known as the Eightfold Path. These guidelines are not sequential. They are simultaneous and mutual. The eight "folds" or aspects are:

1. Right View. 
2. Right Intention.
3. Right Thinking.
4. Right Speaking.
5. Right Activity.
6. Right Effort.
7. Right Mindfulness.
8. Right Mindemptiness.